Miller Hull

2017 AIA Seattle Honor Awards Announced

11-15-2017 | News

Winners Announced for the 2017 Honor Awards for Washington Architecture

Last night, AIA Seattle hosted the 67th annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture to celebrate excellence in design.
The distinguished jury included J. Meejin Yoon AIA, FAAR (Cambridge/Boston), Robert Harris FAIA, LEED Fellow (Austin/San Antonio) and Shirley Blumberg CM, OAA, FRAIC, AIA (Toronto). The event was moderated by Dr. Vikramaditya “Vikram” Prakash, Professor of Architecture at the University of Washington. Co-Chairs for the 2017 AIA Seattle Honor Awards were JoAnn Wilcox AIA & Tim Richey AIA.
From 133 submittals, the jury chose 18 award winners from two categories – built and conceptual. This was also the second year of the Energy in Design Award to commend projects that have made quantifiably significant strides in energy reduction while also maintaining the highest qualitative design caliber. Across the spectrum of project types, the jury acknowledged the strong design culture represented by both the breadth and quality of submitted projects, and applauded the winners for their masterful use of materials and high marks on building craft. The Awards of Honor in particular were projects that went above and beyond in terms of overall design while also contributing to a better world.
Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to our esteemed jury and Honor Awards Committee!

View 2017 Honor Award Winners here